Skip to content

An Open Letter to President Obama: The Day You Made My Heart Weep

December 8, 2009

Dear Mr. President:

As you can tell from above, I have been having second thoughts about our relationship. From the beginning of your candidacy announcement, I have been by your side. I have never wavered in my position, and always had your back in pre-election discussions…even heated arguments. I am sure that I am not the only American who feels a little let down, but to be honest, I never expected to feel this way so soon. I can without a doubt say that there has never been a political figure that I have admired and anticipated as much as you, but more importantly, been so excited and anxious for your future policy improvements.

You tapped into a disgruntled and disenfranchised population of fellow “Generation X’ers” that are old enough to remember the Clinton years, but have spent most of their adult lives subjected to the horrors of George W. Bush and his torturous brigade of obtuse cronies. Like some young Americans, you drew me in through your “global visions” and your “worldly experiences”. While I know the majority of your constituents were mostly concerned about American policies and American issues, I was initially smitten with your personal history (pretty much opposite of the “birthers”). I knew this would frame your presidency and change our image around the world, and so far, I am pleased with your diplomacy efforts. I am exhilarated by your world acceptance, and saw the tides turning in our favor for once in too many years.

As someone who has their eye on an international future, your global image is highly significant to me. But, the day you made my heart weep was last Tuesday when you gave a speech that made me cringe. I should have been prepared for a letdown with just one look at your audience; what would I expect when addressing an auditorium full of military cadets? There was a feeling of sorrow at the start of another war, and your delivery was numb and disconnected from your thoughts. I just didn’t feel the passion in your voice, nor did I see the man I fell in legislative love with two years ago. From your days on YouTube, when you spoke to the country and the world about America’s bright future, you changed and I saw it in your eyes. So, I’m sorry for this sappy and melodramatic letter, but I had to get a few things off my chest.

I have made a psychological investment in your presidency, and it very hard for me to bail on you; mainly because I would feel that I have personally failed in my choice. It is not an easy task to admit that you are not the President I thought you would be, nor am I making that hasty decision right now…I am just unleashing some frustrations out on you. When I thought about writing this letter to you, I didn’t picture it turning out this way; you know, kind of like a scorned lover, but I think I am going to roll with my emotions on this one.

I’m not quitting on you, after all, it has only been 11 months, but just give me a little time to think things through.

Sincerely,

Down, but not Out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sysh permalink*
    December 8, 2009 5:17 pm

    this is brilliant!!!

Leave a Reply

